Ski Reviews

2019 Rossignol Experience 88 Ti Ski Review

2019 Rossignol Experience 88 Ti Ski Review: // Ski Reviews


We're seeing some exciting new products for 2019, and this week's review is certainly no different. For 2019 Rossignol has developed a brand new Experience line of all mountain skis and this week we're taking a closer look at the new Experience 88 Ti. The Experience 88 has been around for a long time now. While it has undergone some changes to construction over the years (check out our 2018 Experience 88 HD review), its shape has basically remained the same. For 2019, however, Rossignol has a brand new Experience 88 that features a new construction, a new shape both in sidecut and rocker profile, and really is a whole new ski that carries forward the legacy of the Experience 88, but with more of a modern design.

Let's take a quick moment to look at the 2018 version of the Experience 88 and that shape that's been around for quite a while. This version of the Experience 88 used what Rossignol called Extended Sidecut. This actually set it apart from a lot of competitor's skis in this category as the tips and tails of the ski were quite wide. There wasn't any early taper at all, which gave it a long effective edge. A relatively low rise, minimalistic rocker profile only enhanced this feel. It gave the ski excellent edge grip on firm snow and a fantastic connection to the snow, but in softer or variable snow conditions if you were trying to pivot or smear the ski it would feel a little bit catchy and challenging to maneuver at times. That being said, not many skis in this category matched its responsive, energetic carving performance thanks to the effective edge and the energy and snap provided by the wood core and Carbon Alloy Matrix construction.

2019 Rossignol Experience 88 Ti Ski Review: : Ski Spec Image

This new version of the Experience 88, now the Experience 88 Ti (not HD, although Carbon Alloy Matrix does remain) takes the ski in a pretty different direction overall. First let's look at shape. The Extended Sidecut is gone and has been replaced with a new Progressive Sidecut. This new shape has much more early taper in the tips and tails, or what Rossignol calls a rounder tip and tail. It's especially noticeable in the tip, which is much straighter and more tapered than the previous version. There's some obvious influence here from Rossignol's freeride skis like the Sky 7 HD and Soul 7 HD. While it's not as drastic, a similar tip shape is carried over to these new Experience skis. There is a difference in the tail as well, but it's a little bit less pronounced. The idea of this new sidecut shape is to give the ski quicker turn initiation, while making it easier to release the tail edge giving the skier more ability to make a variety of different turn shapes and styles. You don't feel so locked in to a carve as you did on the previous version. There is also a new All Terrain Rocker Profile, which uses a higher rise rocker that's more pronounced, especially in the tip. The sidecut and rocker are specifically designed to work together to achieve a more versatile ski.

The changes to construction are also significant. Rossignol has a whole new concept called Line Control Technology. There is multiple versions of this new construction, but the Experience 88 Ti uses the HD Core Ti version. This is a Carbon Alloy Matrix and Titanal "infused" construction and is also found in the Experience 94 Ti, the widest ski in the line. A vertical strip of metal runs through the center of the core, as opposed to horizontal laminates that we see in lots of other skis. The idea behind this construction is to balance power, dampness, stability, and drive with a lively feel, and the ability to adapt to different snow conditions. The center strip of metal helps eliminate counter flexing and retains a really smooth connection to the snow without feeling too heavy. This all translates to, 10 points if you guessed it, more control over your line choice. There is also a new version of Rossignol's Air Tip, called VAS. Rossignol has integrated visco dampeners into the tip which calms and stabilizes the ski, somewhat similar to what they did to the Soul 7 HD or Sky 7 HD for 2018.

So, what did we think of the new Experience 88 Ti? We've been lucky to be able to test this ski in a wide variety of terrain and snow conditions and we're excited to share our experience. Let's start with performance on firm snow. Remember that we thought the previous version of the Experience 88 HD was a fantastic carver. This new version definitely is too. It would have been a big disappointment to a lot of skiers if Rossignol didn't retain the same level of performance on firm snow. You might be thinking that there's no way they did because of the different tip and tail shape and thus shorter effective edge. Very astute of you, and normally we would be right there with you, but that isn't necessarily true on the new Experience 88 Ti. The feel of the new Line Control construction really gives it a strong feel through the cambered portion of the ski. Stronger, in fact, than the previous version, so even though the effective edge is shorter you retain similar power and performance on firm snow. The metal strip through the center of the ski also gives it better vibration damping than the previous ski, but doesn't add too much weight. A slightly shorter turn radius gives the ski a very responsive feel, but isn't so short that it feels too different or doesn't let you make longer turns when you want to.

In soft snow you really start to get a sense of why Rossignol made these changes. The new Progressive Sidecut and All Terrain Rocker Profile really give it a better feel in soft snow. It's much more maneuverable than the previous version. It doesn't ever feel catchy where the old ski used to and that translates to a smoother feel and the ability to make quicker movements without requiring huge amounts of skier input. It's one of those skis that's just a whole lot of fun to ski in soft snow. We found ourselves bouncing around in 4-6 inches of fresh snow on the Experience 88 Ti on a surprise powder day at Stowe and really had an absolute blast. No, it's not a powder ski, but in that amount of snow it performed really, really well. I definitely would be quick to take this new Experience 88 out on a mini powder day like that, where I probably would've shied away from the older version due to its lower rise rocker and Extended Sidecut. It definitely is easier to release the tail edge, which gives it a confidence inspiring feel in trees, moguls, etc. It really is drastically more versatile then the old ski. Also, although it's quick and maneuverable, it still feels stable in variable snow conditions.

2019 Rossignol Experience 88 Ti Ski Review: Wide Image

If you can't tell we're pretty impressed by this new Experience 88 Ti. We think there are a fair amount of skiers out there who have been patiently waiting for a new version of the Experience collection. Now it's here and we can't imagine it being much better. What we mean by that is we think anyone who liked the previous version will probably still really like the new version. It still carves like a dream and still has that energetic, responsive feel that has always made it so fun. Now, on the other hand, it hits a whole new target market of skiers looking for a more versatile ski. Could it be a one ski quiver? We think so. Could the old version? Really only if you were the type of skier who spent the majority of your time on groomed snow. Now you can take your Experience 88 absolutely anywhere on the mountain and you'll feel like you have an appropriate tool for the job. After quite a few days testing the ski in different snow conditions we now totally understand why the first sentence in the Rossignol catalog is, "Cross every boundary, know no limits."

2019 Rossignol Experience 88 Ti Ski Review: : Buy Now Image

2019 Rossignol Experience 88 Ti: Ski Test Image


 

Written by Jeff Neagle on 2/28/18

113 thoughts on “2019 Rossignol Experience 88 Ti Ski Review

  1. Between the e88 Ti and the Nordica e93 which I assume won't change for 2019, which would you say is more maneuverable in bumps and trees and has the best grip on iced over groomers so typical of the NH mountains?

    1. Hi Guillaume!

      Honestly in my opinion it's a toss up between the two in terms of maneuverability in bumps and trees. They are a little different in how I would describe the maneuverability, but I can't say one is better than the other. The Enforcer 93 has longer rocker and really allows for smooth smearing and pivoting turns along the snow surface. The Experience 88 Ti feels lighter and quicker, but not quite as smeary. I hope that makes sense, but I really can't say one is more maneuverable than the other. They do compliment different skiing styles, however. Grip on icy conditions again I think it's a toss up, although I would bet in a direct comparison the Enforcer 93 has a touch more torsional stiffness due to using more metal.

      Hope that helps!

      SE

  2. Guys I am coming off a a first gen k2 recon that is 78 underfoot. I love ripping long arc turns on blue trails but I also love exploring and bumps even though I suck at them. They are 168s and feel small for me as I'm 5"11. I really am looking into getting new skies and am lost in all that is available. I ski mostly in pa but get out west and up to Vermont often. Thoughts on what I should demo. I was thinking these 88s the head core 93, my buddy swears by the vokle kendos any help would be great.

    1. Hi James!

      If you can find a pair of these new Experience 88s to demo, definitely do it. The Kore 93 would be another good one to try. The Kendo is a great ski, but stiffer, heavier, and more demanding than those other two skis. Still, if you got to try those three skis you will have tested a nice selection of all mountain skis and should give you an idea of what you want to buy, even if it doesn't end up being one of those three skis.

      Hope that helps!

      SE

    1. Hi Tom!

      You know, they're actually pretty similar. I think the XDR still feels a little bit more playful than the Experience, but this new version of the E88 is definitely more playful and versatile than the previous version. I think the tips and tails of the XDR have a softer flex and the tail especially uses a little bit more early taper than the Experience, which allows you to wash the tail around or pivot the ski a little bit more easily. Definitely both skis that can handle a wide range of terrain and conditions, just with a slightly different feel.

      Hope that helps!

      SE

      1. Hi I wanted to thank you guys for all the great reviews. I spend way to much time reading them but they sure are informative. Thanks again.

        Anyway enough of the sucking up. I am currently in the market for a new pair of skis (yes late in the season) and have run across the enormous amount of good reviews for the EXP 88. I have rented skis for the past 6 years because of the varying conditions my family and i experience on our trips. We ski mostly on the east coast but wander several times a year to CO and UT with MT in the near future after staying at Whitefish over the summer touring Glacier National park. My old skis were 163's when i first started out 15 years ago and i have stayed pretty close to that when renting (but have tried up to 170's with no issues).

        I'm a pretty decent adv intermediate skier that can be aggressive when necessary but mostly ski with the family on the front side. Daughters are going to out pace me soon so i'll want to keep up. I've looked at quite a few skis but the ones that have stood out are the exp 88, enforcer 93 and kore 93.

        As you can see i'm obviously in need some help here deciding what to get.

        I'm a pretty athletic 5' 7" 165ibs. Played pro soccer for years so i have good stable base. I'm 48 yrs old so not as aggressive as I used to be but still ski the blacks when the challenge arises but mostly the blues with my daughters. I'm really hoping you can help with a recommendation for ski and length.

        Thanks again for all the great support on your forum.

        Tom

        1. Hi Tom!

          Based off everything you've said, I think the Experience 88 Ti is a fantastic choice. The Enforcer 93 and Kore 93 are great skis, but the Enforcer can be a bit much for some skiers, especially lighter weight skiers, and the Kore 93 is more focused on off-piste maneuverability than anything else, in my opinion. The Experience 88 Ti has a great blend of performance for someone your size and ability level. Plenty of stability for when you want to ski fast and aggressively, but they're more forgiving than the Enforcer and Kore, which in my opinion is important for someone like yourself. They're not soft-flexing noodles by any means, they still rip, but they're more approachable. It should be a better tool to help you continue to improve your technique than those other skis.

          If I were you, I'd go Experience 88 Ti in the 173 cm length. A little longer than what you've skied in the past, but with the rocker profile on the new Experience, I don't expect it to be too challenging for you. A 173 cm Experience 88 Ti, for example, is easier than a 169 cm Enforcer 93.

          Hope that helps!

          SE

  3. Great review of the new 2019 Exp Series! Question:

    How does the introduction of a vertical Titanal strip change the weight and flexibility of the skis compared to the 2018 versions?

    What I love about the 2018 Exp versions is they are so light and relatively flexible for a "high-performance all-mountain carving ski", especially the 2018 Exp 84 which has a very light Paulownia wood core with no metal in the ski to weigh it down and cause tired legs.

    I would be interested to know your thoughts if the introduction of a Titanal strip makes the ski significantly heavier, or significantly stiffer and therefore maybe not as playful fun in the bumps/moguls?

    1. Hi Randy!

      Because it's a relatively small amount of metal it actually doesn't make the ski noticeably heavier in my opinion. It also doesn't feel much stiffer, if at all, compared to the previous version. It does, however, have a smoother, damper feel, which is really where that metal comes into play.

      I think you could actually argue its MORE fun in bumps and other off-piste terrain now because of the updated shape. Less catchy, a little more maneuverable, and smoother from the metal.

      SE

    1. Hi Skibumz3!

      I would go with the Experience 88 Ti over the Soul 7 as a true all mountain ski. The Soul is a little wide for groomers and doesn't have the same torsional stiffness as the Experience 88. The Experience 88 will also be a little quicker and more appropriate in moguls, especially when there's not soft snow. The Soul is more of a freeride/powder ski that can still handle other conditions, where the Experience 88 is a true all mountain ski.

      Hope that helps!

      SE

  4. Hey realy nice review!

    Im searching for a new ski. I tested the Stoeckl Scale Beta rly nice Ski but too expensive. So i search a All-Mountain Ski (80%on-piste/20%off piste) which is not too heavy but damp nice at higher speed. The Radius should be not so high. So im unsure what Ski i should take. Im looked for the Experience 88 (2019) or Völkl Kanjos (2018). Do you have any Idea or any other suggestion which i should look for that i can buy.

    Hope u can help and sorry for my bad English

    1. Hi Micro1994!

      I think you'll probably prefer the Experience 88 Ti over the Kanjo because it uses a smaller turn radius. The Nordica Navigator 85 and 90 also come to mind as skis that aren't too heavy, but stable and damp at speed, and also use a relatively short turn radius. I think both the Experience 88 Ti and one of those Navigators could be perfect skis for you.

      Hope that helps!

      SE

  5. Ty for the Help!

    One another question.
    Are there any big diffrences between the new EXP 88 and the Salomon XDR 84 TI? In terms of damping at higher speed or weight?

    1. Hi again Micro1994!

      No, in terms of vibration damping and weight they're actually quite similar, although a better comparison would be the XDR 88 to the Experience 88 just because the waist widths match up.

      SE

  6. A very interesting read, thank you. I am still running on my 2009 SC80 bandits in a 175 length. They have served me extremely well. Natural cruising speed is around 50mph with a top speed of 60. I have used them for carving, moguls, crud, powder and icy conditions. Until now I had no idea what to change them for and now they are starting to show their age. If I could ask for more from a pair of skis it would be more float with easier turn in powder and crud and more edge on the scratchy stuff. A slightly higher cruising speed would also be nice. Are these skis in a 180 my dream set do you think? At close to 40, with well over a year in the mountains, skiing from childhood now stuck behind a desk for 44 weeks a year managing to keep the weight at 80kg and height still at 180cm I really am looking for the do anything ski when I get my chance.

    1. Hi Jimbo!

      Sounds like you ski really fast! Are you ripping through crud snow at that speed too? If so you might even want to bump up to the 94. More stability out of the 94 when you're charging through crud like that.

      That said, the 88 would definitely be a step up from your current skis and is definitely way more versatile for all the different terrain you ski. Definitely more float in soft snow, and better stability too in any terrain. I just wonder if you need even more ski if you're really skiing that aggressively through variable snow conditions? Just a thought...

      Hope that helps!

      SE

      1. The cruising and max speeds are on piste which of course gets bits of crud every now and then which prob slows me down to 40 mph (all according to ski tracks app). I am in the alps at the moment for the end of what has been a fantastic season. The moguls are a real mix of very hard ice with wads of soft crudy stuff which is harder work than it should be despite the shortish ski. I was taught to do moguls properly as a teenager and the mind remembers, the body can just about keep up but I could do with a bit more help. The natural runs in la plagne are just too tempting to say no to.

        The other skis that have caught my eye are the really hard to ignore Nordica Enforcer 93s and 100s and the Black Crows Captis. Ski types, widths and lengths are a mare for me as I buy skis every 10 years and it has all changed. Longer than my 175s would be good from a cruising point of view but I love the shorts turns I can do with them. I could certainly live with slightly longer turn radius and if the more modern skis turn easier then they should be fine for me. May be NEs in a 185 based upon your reviews. The 93s with slightly more bite appeal but it sounds like there is minimal difference really between the 93s and 100s. The black crows look like a curve ball but at least can be sourced in ththe UK. Finding any to test over here is impossible 🙁

        1. Hi again Jimbo!

          40 mph through crud snow is still really, really fast. You need a ski with a lot of stability for something like that. Jacket-flapping speeds through chopped up snow is how I like to describe it!

          I would say at your weight and considering you're quite an aggressive skier you should bump up your length. I think the Enforcer 93 in a 185 cm feels like it would work really well, especially at your size. It uses a lot of tip rocker, so is known for skiing a little bit short. Should give you the stability you need for when you're skiing really fast, but is still pretty quick to maneuver, which is one of the reasons why it has become such a popular ski. I think either that or the new Experience 94 Ti would give you a really nice blend of performance for the terrain you ski.

          SE

          1. Hi and thanks again for the response. I suspect our definitions of crud are differing here, I am not talking boot deep + crud, I'm talking on piste crud courtesy of unbashed day old snowfall and normal skiing/boarding churn (you know the stuff that appears ahead and either slows you down a bit, makes you mogul/jump it or causes a slalom around those struggling with it). Crud crud would be much slower and purposeful with the ski/poles combo I currently have and wouldn't want to be at that speed for risk of what lies beneath. I should also make it clear the speeds I mention are when I am going for it and the conditions and ski buddies allow. French resorts tend to be busier than the US / Canadian resorts I have been to so I am after a ski that can do that when the opportunity allows/will not hold me back in any conditions, I wish I had the fitness to go like that all the time (think ex-amateur racer/sprinter mentality). 185 feels long to me as I'm on 175s currently hence my initial interest in the 180s. One thing that tends to consistently makes me mutter under my breath is when cranked over on hard packed icy/scratchy snow and the ski slips (ignore the skier here for the moment please 🙂 ), I appreciate the 185s are more likely to grip better but the 93 / 94 skis can't stick to the mountain as well as an 88 surely? Then to the moguls, 185s can't work anywhere near as well as 180s or turn in powder as easily surely? You see my problem, I've used the same skis for 10 years and been happy and faithful to them.
            Now I have Enforcer 93s and 100s in 185 or Ros Exp 88 or 94 (really a 92 I have read) in a 180 on my mind with no way of trying any of them.

          2. Hi Jimbo!

            Yeah, when I think of crud snow I think of tracked out un-groomed terrain. So I was picturing you mobbing down the fall line of steep bowls, chutes, etc.

            That being said, I'm still leaning toward 185 cm Enforcer 93. There's really not a drastic difference in edge grip between a 93 mm ski and an 88 mm ski to be honest. With today's ski technology manufacturers are able to give wider skis a lot more torsional stiffness than they have been able to in the past. The Enforcer 93 is also known to ski short, so at your size the 185 cm really feels like the appropriate length. Although, if it's making you nervous there are some skiers your size that prefer skiing the 177 cm length. Still, I don't think you'd have a problem on the 185 cm. Better stability, better edge grip, and I think you'll find a 185 cm Enforcer 93 is surprisingly maneuverable in bumps. In powder shorter skis can actually be harder to maneuver because the tips dive more often. The 185 cm length will help the tips stay above the snow, which increases maneuverability. In my opinion the Enforcer 93 just has such a nice blend of performance characteristics for what you're looking to do. Not to take anything away from the Experience collection, but the tails feel a little different on the Experience which requires a little more skier input in soft snow. Both the 88 and 94 are great skis, but for some reason I'm leaning toward Enforcer for you.

            SE

          3. Hello and thanks again for the advice. I too am swaying towards the Nordica E93s from all that I have read and am now with you on the 185s (getting close to the old days lengths). What bindings do you think would work best with these skis and the type of skiing I am doing? The LOOK - SPX 12 Dual WTR B100 seems to be on offer and well regarded, I am putting my feet into 2016 Atomic Livefit 130s with custom liners and a boost strap which give great control and comfort.

          4. Hey again Jimbo!

            The Tyrolia Attack 13 and the Marker Griffon have both been popular choices for the Enforcer 93, but the Look SPX 12 has similar performance and would work well too. Bindings is somewhat personal preference. All three of those will have good performance and have proven, consistent release, so they're all perfectly safe. If one of another really speaks to you I would go with that one. Some people really like the wider platform of the Attack and Griffon, while some people really like the engagement in Look bindings.

            Tough to go wrong.

            SE

          5. Thanks for all the info, much appreciated. Final question, do you know the exact measurement of the height of the ski? I know they are marked 185s however are they really 185 cm in true height as I have a ski box that is right on the fringe for that length, the good old Ski Sportube 3.

          6. Hey Jimbo!

            I just measured a pair. They come out to barely over 184 cm, so pretty close to the claimed 185 cm length.

            SE

          7. Hi Again. So I took the plunge and went for the Nordica Enforcers 93 in a 185 with the Attack 13 in a 95. Wow what a pair of skis, absolutely superb for me. Thank you for the recommendation and info on all the alternatives, seriously appreciated. Cheers, Jimbo

          8. Hi JonG!

            What length have you been renting? While you could probably ski the 180 cm, it might be too much of a jump from what you've been renting. Going up in size drastically can result in a long adjustment period, and can actually cause some bad habits in skier technique. 173 cm isn't outrageously short for your size by any means. I think that's probably the way to go, unless you've already been renting skis in the ~170 cm range.

            Hope that helps!

            SE

  7. Really enjoy all your ski reviews and feedback- 6ft 174 lb 60 yrs looking to up grade from 08 Rossi Zenith Z9's 170cm
    Love these skis did demo some Head Monster 98's in Fernie- foot of Pow day. Awesome ! However ski mostly Banff - Lake Louise Sunshine maybe 15ish days/year aggressive Intermediate love charging carving on piste blue/black & venturing off piste trees & light pow - was leaning toward 2019 Rossi E88's at 180 cm. Thoughts ?

    1. Hi Dave!

      I think a 180 cm 2019 Experience 88 would be a great ski for you! It's a high performance ski, but not overly demanding. In my opinion its performance is perfect for an aggressive intermediate skier like yourself. It also has a really nice blend of performance for different terrain and snow conditions. Rips turns on groomers for sure, but this new shape performs so much better in softer snow than the previous Experience 88. It's a blast to ski around the entire mountain.

      Go for it!

      SE

  8. Hi and thank you very much for your reviews and videos which I am regularly watching! I am a lightweight 186cm expert skier and currently looking for an allmountain ski with a focus on piste performance. I prefer small radius. I was up to buy the 2018 Salomon XDR 84 ti 179cm, but now I read your review on the new 2019 Rossignol Experience 88 ti (180cm). How would you compare / differentiate these two? I would appreciate your help!

    1. Hi Moritz!

      The XDR feels a little bit more energetic from the carbon in its construction. The new Experience 88 is really cool and I think the highlight of it is that it has that damp, quiet, powerful feel of metal without being too heavy. I think it's a toss up between the two. The tail shape of the Experience 88 allows you to finish a carving turn with a lot of precision, but on the other side the XDR doesn't feel like it's lacking edge grip. Lower rise rocker in the tip of the XDR, so it initiates a turn a little quicker I'd say.

      Let me know if that helps or if you want to chat more about it

      SE

      1. Thank you very much for your advice. I have still not decided, but I might go for the Salomon xdr, as it is from last season and there are some good off season offers available. I guess the new Rossignol 2019 will be by far more expensive (not yet available here). Another one I took into account was the Nordica Navigator 90. How would you compare it to the other two?

        1. Hi Moritz!

          The Navigator has a flat, squared off, relatively stiff tail. That gives it a boost in performance on firm snow, but it's not quite as versatile as the XDR or the new Experience. However, you did mention you're focusing on piste performance, so perhaps that's the way to go. It's a cool ski, metal grid provides good power and vibration damping, but isn't heavy. The tip initiates easily, while the tail finishes a turn with some power and precision that's pretty rare for a ski in this width range.

          SE

  9. Hi there,

    Thinking of buying a pair of new skis and wondered if you could give me any help. I'm 6'4 and weigh 180lbs at an intermediate - advanced level, would like a one quiver ski for the alps. I would say I spend the majority of my time on piste but like to play off piste if there is fresh snow. I'm a fairly agressive skier who likes charging but I also value playfulness and snappy turns.

    Heres my list and would appreciate you making any reccomendations or pointing me in the right direction.

    Nordica enforcer 93: Very stable, versitile ski that also has maneuverability, however, the 2 sheets of metal might be too much for my level? also, it is geared towards off piste a little more than i'd like. Im aiming for a ski that is around 80/70% on piste.

    Head Kore: Would love the lightwieght yet stable feel, but again, more tuned for off piste.

    XDR 84/ Dynastar legend x 84: Feel these two are more suited to my needs for on piste and would like to know the differences between the two? would the xdr tips be too soft?

    Rossignol exp 88 ti: Good versatility, carving, bit lighter and more playful than the enforcer? new model so more expensive than the others.

    Atomic vantage 90 cti 2018/ ti 2019?

    I know this is a long post but im so undecided!

    Thanks for help in advance,

    Alex

    1. Hi Alex!

      Sounds like you're at least a fairly athletic guy, yeah? I think I can help point you in the right direction. Let me know if anything doesn't make sense.

      Nordica enforcer 93: Yup, nice and stable, and quite versatile. Powerful from the metal, but also maneuverable and playful. I don't necessarily think 2 sheets of metal is too much for your level, especially since you describe yourself as relatively aggressive. The metal in the Enforcer is thinner than a lot of skis, so not quite as stiff or heavy. Yes, it's quite capable off-piste, but certainly no slouch on firm snow either. Holds an edge well, links carving turns well, etc.

      Head Kore: I think you might push it a little too hard at your size and level of aggressiveness. Doesn't quite have the groomer performance for someone like yourself, in my opinion. More off-piste oriented than the Enforcer 93, in my opinion, even though they share similar shapes.

      XDR 84/ Dynastar legend x 84: Legend X 84 uses a lot of early taper and rocker, so actually is fairly geared towards maneuverability and off-piste conditions. Might not have the edge grip or stability you want. The XDR 84 (or 88) definitely leans more toward groomer performance, but they're still really fun in soft snow, moguls, trees, etc.

      Rossignol exp 88 ti: A little bit more maneuverable and better in soft snow than the XDR. Kind of falls right in between a ski like the XDR 84 and the Enforcer 93. If you're feeling stuck between those two skis, Experience 88 Ti might be the way to go.

      Atomic vantage 90 cti 2018/ ti 2019?: New version probably doesn't have the versatility you're looking for, more of a wider groomer-ripper. The previous version is fairly similar to the XDR 88, some metal, some carbon, similar shape and width.

      I wouldn't rule out the Enforcer 93 just because its on the wider, more off-piste end of the spectrum here. It still performs well on groomed snow. If you want to really focus on that groomer performance, however, go with the XDR or the Experience. I think those skis would both give you the blend of performance you're looking for. Not quite as much float or stability of the Enforcer 93, but a touch quicker edge to edge on firm snow.

      Let me know if you have any other questions or want to chat more about options!

      SE

  10. Heya

    I really got into skiing last season, and absolutely loved it and am looking to pick up some skis going forwards. I have my own boots, and am an intermediate skier who hopes to do a whole lot more of skiing and improve next season.

    I've read through a lot of review websites and a lot of your comments on other people's situations.

    I'm quite fit, can link parallel turns easily, and started learning how to carve properly. I'm short (5'8) and light (140 pounds).

    Currently I am confident on most groomed terrain, and have only mostly skied groomed runs, but want to experience more in terms of off piste and park when the next season comes along. I estimate that I'll be 80/20 on/off piste next season and gradually more as I get more confident and better.

    From all the reviews I've concluded that the Rossignol Experience 88 would be a nice ski for me to grow into, or Nordica Navigators or the K2 Pinnacle 85s would all be skis that I could grow into comfortably.

    I still have a while to make my mind up obviously, but I was wondering if you could provide some insight before I pull the trigger

    Thanks so much!

    1. Hi Ken!

      It's awesome you're picking up the sport so quickly! Sounds like you've got some natural talent.

      I think either the new Experience 88 Ti or the Pinnacle 85 are the better options for you. The Navigator is a super fun ski, but probably the most challenging in off-piste terrain and conditions out of those three. It has a flat, squared off, relatively stiff tail, which gives it awesome performance on firm snow, but also makes it a little more challenging to maneuver and pivot in softer snow. The Experience 88 is actually relatively similar, but the tail shape is different enough that it's easier to release the tail edge in soft snow, something that will help you continue to progress off-piste. The Pinnacle 85 would be the easiest right off the bat for you, but you might outgrow it so to speak if you continue to learn at a rapid pace. I would actually point you towards the Pinnacle 88 if you go the K2 route. That ski is also quite forgiving, but a little more powerful than the 85, which you'll appreciate as you continue to improve. Experience 88 Ti or Pinnacle 88 both feel like a great choice to me. Pinnacle will be a little more maneuverable, Experience will be a little more responsive on groomers. Overall, however, pretty similar performance.

      Hope that helps!

      SE

  11. really like what I read about the Rossi experience 88 ti. I'm 6'1" 180 lbs presently skiing on old k2 axis 188 cm (70 mm). Happy enough but they are too long and it is time for a change. I ski in the East most groomed, some woods if conditions are great likewise bumps. Would these be a good choice and at what length. If it matters I am 70 years old.

    Thanks

    1. Hi Thomas!

      You'll love the new Experience 88 Ti! It's pretty perfect for the skiing you like to do: "most groomed, some woods if conditions are great likewise bumps." Rossignol really did a good job redesigning it for 2019, we've been very impressed.

      Don't feel like you need to go super long with the Experience. I think the 180 cm length is perfectly appropriate for your size, ability level, etc. Will be much easier to maneuver than your old skis, but still stable at speed.

      Hope that helps! I think you're going to have a very fun winter with some new skis on your feet.

      SE

  12. How would you compare the Experience 88 to the Volkl Kendo? Sounds like both are very good carvers, which would be better in bumps/ trees/ soft snow?

    1. Hi Bob!

      The biggest difference between the Experience 88 Ti and the Kendo is their construction. The Kendo uses two full sheets of metal, while the Experience 88 Ti uses a vertically laminated strip of metal in the middle of the ski. The Kendo is heavier, a little stiffer, and a little more powerful. The Experience 88 Ti is definitely still a high performing ski, but it's a little lighter and has a slightly softer flex pattern. The Kendo also uses a longer turn radius, and the Experience 88 Ti has more pronounced rocker, especially in the tip.

      So, overall it's hard to say that one is better than the other in bumps, trees, and soft snow, it really comes down to skiing style. If you're really aggressive, take direct lines down the fall line, and like to ski fast, you'd probably prefer the Kendo. If you're a little less aggressive, value maneuverability over raw power, or don't ski particularly fast, you'd probably prefer the Experience 88 Ti.

      Let me know what you think. Happy to answer more questions!

      SE

  13. Hi!. Looking at getting the Rossi 88-TI. Wondering what size you would recommend for me? 165#, 5'-11". I am an all-mountain, long-time skier...love to carve hard turns, dive into the trees and take on the occasional bump run. Also, I have the same question (recommended size) for my girlfriend who wants to get a pair of these...140#, 5'-7" (she hangs with me but is a little less aggressive skier). Thanks for your advice!

    1. Hello Steve!
      I think the 180 would do what you need it to do, especially if you're all over the mountain. The longer size might be too much in the trees, and the shorter size might make you feel unstable. As for your lady, if she's on the non-aggressive side, then I'd recommend the 159. If she's looking to step it up a bit, the 166 would be a good choice. Have fun, great skis!
      SE

      1. Hi Again. Thanks for your quick and helpful response. We really like the Rossi 88-TI, but wondering if there any reason my lady friend should be looking at a different women's specific ski in the Rossi lineup?

        1. Steve,
          The men's and women's Experience 88 Ti are the same, except for different topsheet graphics and length options. But if you're about the same skill and are skiing the same stuff, I wouldn't recommend much else in the line. You could check out the Experience 84 Ai, which is a bit narrower and a bit softer, but my guess is that you'll both get the performance you need out of the 88's. Happy skiing!
          SE

  14. I currently have a pair of the 2016 Experience 88s 172cm and am looking at replacing them due to wear and tear. I generally like the ski and the improvements for 2019 seem to resolve the few minor issues I have with them.

    In addition to the new 88s I am also looking at the navigator 90 and enforcer 93. I also have a pair of head 2018 irally super shape 177cm that I really don't like all that much. I obviously need some help here deciding what to get.. I ski all over the mountain but my local area seldom has anything but groomed terrain except for the few snow days each season. Bumps are the only variety available on a regular basis which I like except when they are frozen rock hard. So my soft snow off piste experiences usually happen on my western or New England (VT mostly) vacations. I have a pair of 2018 soul 7 hd 180cm I usually take along on trips.

    I'm 5' 11" 165ibs. I ski 75 - 80 days and often for long periods, (first on, last off) if you know what I mean. I'm also getting older (70) so I'm not as aggressive as I used to be but still ski the double blacks regularly. Length is my primary concern especially due to skiing bumps. What ski and length can you recommend for me.

    BTW, I really find your reviews and explanations of the various ski shapes and construction extremely informative. Please keep them coming.

    Thanks!!!

    1. Hi Scott!

      I think you'll enjoy the new Experience 88 very, very much. The Navigator 90 and Enforcer 93 are both great skis, but for you specifically I think you're going to get everything you're looking for out of the new Experience.

      For the snow conditions you ski mostly, the Experience 88 is a great choice. Performs really well on groomers, like the version of the Experience that you currently own, but this new version handles moguls much, much more easily. In fact, I think it's a better mogul ski than both the Navigator 90 and Enforcer 93, which is part of the reason why I think that's the right way to go. It also sounds like the Experience 88 is going to match your skiing style and level of aggressiveness a little better than either of the Nordica skis.

      For length, initially I was thinking 180 cm, but the more I think about it I do think you could probably stick with the 173 cm length and be just fine. You have your longer Soul 7 for days when you need the extra float, and I don't expect you'll need the extra stability of a 180 cm Experience 88. I would stick with the 173 cm length as that's going to be more forgiving and maneuverable in moguls, and should still have plenty of stability for those times you want to ski a little faster.

      Hope that helps! Let us know if you have any other questions.

      SE

  15. Hi - thanks for the great reviews.
    I'm 6'1" 205 Lbs and 58 years old. I ski mostly in Eastern Ontario/ Western Quebec on hard packed groomers on Dynastar Speed Zone 10 TI
    They handle the hard pack very well and I can handle the ski well at high speed on the blues and well enough at high speed on the (single) black diamonds.
    When we have fresh snow it tends to be heavy and that is when i get into trouble. This also happens when the runs get chewed up at the end of the day and later in the season when it warms up to above -20 C Ha ha.
    I would go on less maintained terrain, but not trees and not moguls.
    So I would like a ski that holds it's own on hard pack that is the same or a little less work than my current set and that handles the "uneven terrain" and a few inches of fresh snow better.
    A local shop recommends the Exp 84 or the Salomon XDR 88, but this is what they sell. Looks like the Navigator 90, or the 85, could be a good option and perhaps the Atomic Vantage 90 Ti.
    I would greatly appreciate your insights and recommendation(s)
    Best - Tim

  16. Hi, Jeff. I am 58, 6'4", 230, or so, depending on the number of donuts consumed at my desk job. I have skiied since a kid, maybe 10 times a year. I ski a lot at Sugarloaf and Sunday River, primarily groomers, on 187 Brahmas, they are a great ski, but, as you know, they like to go really fast and are somewhat heavy. I am thinking I would like a ski lighter than the Brahma lwith a shorter turn radius, yet maintains its hold at speed. Could you please recomend a couple skis to consider and length? Experience 88, Nordica Enforcer 93, Navigator, Rustler 9, Fisher Pro Mt 86, Atomic Vantage 90? Thank you.

    1. Hi Tim!

      A ski from the Experience line, or from the Salomon XDR line, would both be a great choice. That said, if I were you I would go with the Experience 88 Ti over the Experience 84. The inclusion of metal in that ski will help increase stability, especially for someone your size. Coming off your Dynastars, I worry that you would find the Experience 84 not "enough ski." Either the XDR 88 or the Experience 88 would work really well for what you're looking to do. They're still focused on achieving solid firm snow performance, but can carry that performance into softer snow conditions as well. The Navigators and the Vantage both lean a little more towards firm snow. They could work, but they're not quite as forgiving in softer snow conditions as the XDR or Experience, which is why I think those would be better choices.

      Hope that helps! Let us know if you have any other questions.

      SE

      1. Hi Peter!

        Judging by your height, weight, name, and geographic location, I'm venturing a guess that you and I have played golf together. Am I right?

        The Brahma definitely likes to go fast. Especially that 187 cm length. There are a couple ways to go here.

        On one hand, you like the Brahma. It has its benefits and Blizzard has a relatively unique-to-brand feel. So, a pretty easy solution to your situation would be the Rustler 9. You could get the longest length, the 188, and it would still give you that precise, knife-like feel underfoot, but it allows for different turn shapes much more easily and is overall a much more forgiving ski. When I skied it, my initial reaction was something like, "this feels like a Brahma." It wasn't until I started playing around with turn shapes and got it into softer snow that I realized it was a far more maneuverable, forgiving ski, which to me was a good thing.

        The Enforcer 93 also presents an interesting option. Definitely a shorter turn shape than the Brahma, and much more forgiving, but you still get those two full sheets of metal, so still really good stability at speed. It does, however, have a different overall feel than the Blizzards. It's a little less precise, which isn't necessarily a bad thing, but something to consider. The metal is thinner than the Blizzards, so the flex pattern is actually a little softer than the Brahma, and more consistent tip to tail than the Rustler 9.

        In my opinion, considering your size and that you've been skiing on the Brahma, those two skis are probably the best choice out of what you've listed. The others are great skis, but we have to remember that you're coming off a Brahma. Some of the lighter constructions might leave something to be desired as you've likely become accustomed to the power, stability, vibration damping of the Brahma.

        What do you think? Happy to chat more about it. Ask my Dad for my cell phone number if you want 😉

        SE (Jeff)

  17. Thank you for the recommendation Jeff.
    Would you say that lengthwise the Exp88 at 180 or the XDR88 at 179 should be right?
    Will look into visiting Stowe this season!
    Cheers -Tim

    1. Hi again Tim!

      Yes, right around 180 cm should be perfect for you in both skis.

      Definitely let us know if you come to Stowe! We'll come make some turns with you.

      SE

      1. Jeff - reading through your reviews some more I came across the (2017) Vantage 85 CTI and it looks like it might suit my skiing.
        What do you think?
        Thank you - Tim

        1. Hi Tim!

          We haven't found anything wrong with the Vantage 85 CTI. They're light, quick, and a ton of fun. It's also a great all-mountain shape that does everything from groomers to powder and everything in between. Very versatile. Hope that helps!

          SE

    1. Hi Jon!

      That particular pair that we were skiing in this video and review belonged to Rossignol. That said, we have a fleet of demos at our brick and mortar shop, Pinnacle Ski and Sports in Stowe. The 2019 demos, however, won't be available for purchase until the end of this ski season.

      SE

  18. Hi!

    Thanks for the great review!

    I'm a bit over 5'11" and ~171lbs. I'd consider myself an advanced skier on piste, where is where I spend most of my time. I do however like to get out in the ungroomed terrain if the conditions are right. I'd say about 80/20 on/off piste but I'm looking to improve my skill off piste and get out a bit more. I only ski about a week or two a year and want a ski that can handle most conditions.

    From your reviews I really like the sound of the Experience 88, I especially like how versitle you say it is. The only thing keeping me on the fence is whether I should go with a more piste focused ski (like the Brahma or Kendo that you guys mentioned in your overviews video), but I'm unsure if I really need it. I like to ski fast and aggressively, but not _that_ fast, if you now what I mean? 🙂

    If you do recommend the Experience 88, what length would you say is appropriate for me, the 180 or the 173?

    Thanks!
    Kristian

  19. HI SE! Congratulations on the great reviews, they are the best out there!! Quick question on the Exp 88s, should I size up or not? I'm 177cms and 145lbs, so I sit just between the 173 and the 180. I'm an expert and aggressive but pretty lightweight! I'm 70/30 on groomers so not sure if the 180 would be too much for me. Thanks a lot!
    James.

    1. Hi Kristian!
      If you're in the mood for versatility, the Experience 88 is the way to go. The Brahma and Kendo are definitely more piste-oriented, and also quite a bit more demanding and substantial in terms of construction. The E88 has a pretty high speed limit, and given your weight, I wouldn't worry about overpowering it. I'm 6'2/220 and I skied the 180 and found it had enough stability for some serious speed. I'd recommend the 180 length for you. Have fun!
      SE

      1. Thanks, James! Glad to help.
        I do not think the 180 would be too much for you. It may feel a bit long from time to time (tight moguls and trees), but overall, if you're 70% groomer, you'll probably appreciate the extra stability, especially if you're expert/aggressive. Have fun!
        SE

      2. Hey,

        I do most of my skiing out west in Colorado and Montana. I'm an intermediate level skier, who spends the majority of my time on groomed slopes, but do like to play in the powder on snow days. Last year I rented the Rossignol E88 HD's and really enjoyed them. I can currently get a really good deal on last year's model, but wasn't sure if the new model would be worth the extra expense? As an intermediate level skier, I am assuming I likely won't be able to tell a massive difference, but would love your thoughts. Also, I am 5'11" and about 155 lbs. I tried the 180 cm and 172 cm ski's last year and couldn't tell a huge difference, but probably a bit more response in the 172 length due to the shorter size and my relatively light frame. Any thoughts on sizing would be greatly appreciated as well. THANKS!

        1. Hi James!

          There's actually a pretty big difference between the 2018 and 2019. The new version is a lot more versatile and better suited to all-mountain skiing. I've always felt that the 2018 was a great ski for on-piste carving, but wasn't as versatile as I'd like an 88 mm underfoot ski to be. The 2019 has kept a lot of the carving personality of the older ski, but made it more accessible to more skiers and more terrain and snow conditions. I'd say the 172 (173 for 2019) would be the way to go. Have fun!

          SE

  20. Hi, Jeff. You figured me out pretty quickly. As I mentioned to your Dad, you do a great job, your reviews are well done and helpful. So, thanks very much for that. I find the Brahmas to be board like, solid, but not a blast, so I am considering strong, but lighter. Is the Experience 88, Dynastar Legend X88, or Atomic 90 CTI anything you could recommend for me? Keep up the good work, thanks.

  21. Hey SE,

    I am 187cm and I weigh about 180 pounds, I'm advanced to expert skier and I mostly ski groomers, but also like to get out in the ungroomed once in a while. I mostly ski the east-coast and europe, would the Experience 88 ti be the right ski for me or maybe the brahma? And also I don't quite know if I should choose the 180 or 187 cm ski.

    Troels 🙂

    1. Hi again Peter!

      I think the Experience 88 Ti could definitely work for you. I initially was thinking the Enforcer 93 or Rustler 9, but if you really want to focus on getting something considerably lighter than the Brahma, the Experience 88 Ti would be a great choice. I had a lot of fun skiing it for this review. Feels solid on groomers, but way more forgiving and maneuverable than a ski like the Brahma. Also, less fatiguing than the Brahma, Enforcer 93, etc because of the difference in weight. If you go with the Experience 88, definitely get the longest length. It'll feel way easier than the Brahma, even though they're the same length, and I would worry that the 180 cm would feel short to you. I think you'd enjoy the Experience 88 over the Legend or the Vantage.

      Let me know what you think!

      Jeff

      1. Hi Troels!

        In general, if you're spending a fair amount of time off-piste, you'll have an easier time on the Experience 88 Ti. The Brahma is a lot of ski and somewhat difficult to maneuver in un-groomed terrain.

        So, for length of the Experience 88 Ti, it comes down to how aggressive you are. At your size you could realistically ski either the 180 or the 187 cm. Do you like to ski fast and aggressively? That would be reason to go with the 187 cm length. If you're less aggressive, prefer shorter turns, etc, the 180 cm might be better.

        Let me know what you think, happy to chat more about it!

        SE

  22. Wondering which you think would suit me better the Rossignol Experience 88 or Dynastar Legend 88.
    I`m a fairly aggressive advanced skier. Ski mainly on west coast and Canada. Probably spend about 40% of time off-piste. Really enjoy tree skiing.
    Like the bumps but don`t spend too much time in them now as 71. I`m 75 kilos and 5ft 10in. Also what length do you think I should select?

    1. Hi Barry!

      If I were you I think I would go with a 180 cm Experience 88 Ti. Not to take anything away from the Legend 88, but I don't necessarily think you'd need the super-early-tapered shape of the Legend. If you were spending more of your time in moguls and trees it could make sense to go to the Legend, but I think you're getting a more even mix of performance characteristics out of the Experience 88 Ti. I had a blast skiing it in moguls and trees during our testing on it, and I think as a fairly aggressive skier you'll appreciate the longer effective edge when you find yourself on firmer snow conditions. 180 cm might seem long, but with the tip rocker and overall flex pattern of the Experience 88 Ti, it's pretty manageable in longer lengths.

      Hope that helps!

      SE

  23. Hi, thanks a lot for your review!!!

    I'm 44 years old, 179 cm tall and weigh 77 Kg . I'm intemediate/advance skier and ski motly in Spain on piste groomers. I will say 80/20 on piste/off piste. I have 2 young childs who are learning to ski so I pass some of my time on piste skiing quietly. When they are taking lessons I can ski alone so I ski more agressive an fast on piste or if possible try to do some off piste (sometimes difficult due to snow conditions)

    I'm thinking of changing my skies and I have some doubt between the Enforcer 93, the Experience 88 Ti and the Salomon XDR 88 Ti, Elan Amphibio 88 XTI (or any extra suggestion from you side)

    I like the review of the Enfocer 93 but I'm a little bit afraid tha it could be very stiff and less maneuverable when I'm skiing with my childs that the Experience.

    Are there big differences between the Enforce 93 and the Experience 88 Ti for the ski on piste???

    Many thanks in advance

  24. Im 48 yrs old, 225#, 6'0" and an advanced/expert skier. Spent my career carving and racing but am enjoying movuls and trees as well in my older years in CO. Im deciding between the NEW 2019 Experience 88's or last years E88's and leaning towards the 187/188cm size.

    I love to go fast and carve long turns, but also want to hit some bumps.... which model/size would you suggest?

    1. Hi Rich!

      In our opinion, the new version of the Experience 88 is an improvement over the previous version in just about every application. It's way better in moguls and trees than the previous version as it allows for different turn shapes much more easily. The tip profile also really helps in softer snow conditions, less catchy and more float than the previous version. I can pretty confidently say that you'd prefer the new version.

      Hope that helps!

      SE

  25. I am a PSIA Level 2 skier and love counter-rotational dynamic parallel carving at high speeds. I LOVED the old 2015 E88's because of the amazing amount of snap from turn to turn and how lively they feel under foot even in short swing. I ski 80% steep groomers, 10% bumps, 10% trees.

    Im not sure I want to give up much carving ability to a early taper. Will the '18 E88's work well enough in the bumps at a 188cm length?

    1. Hi Doug!

      The ability to ski a 188 cm Experience 88 in the bumps really just comes down to skier style and ability. If you're comfortable going down-the-fall-line, and aren't pivoting too much at slow speeds in bumps, they'll be great. Were you on the longest length in the previous version? We've seen a lot of people wondering whether they should size up on the new version because of the rocker and early taper, but the Line Control Technology in this new ski really delivers proper stability.

      Hope that helps!

      SE

  26. Really appreciate the review. Local shop recommended the Experience 88, in 180cm. I am 6'3", 225 and was worried might be too short. Do most of my skiing in the Midwest, and they said based on local conditions I would appreciate the better control of the 180 vs 187. Should I have any concerns going with the shorter size in this ski? I am no expert by any means, but do a get out a bit and look to get out a bit more going forward.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  27. hi,
    i am 185cm and 77kg, expert skier - focus for this ski for me would be a good carving performance, short and long turn, also bumps, trees and not too deep snow - which length of the ski would you recommend?
    thanks!

    1. Hi Lothar!

      I think you'd do just fine on the 187 cm considering you're an expert skier. That's only 2 cm taller than you, which when considering the length of the tip rocker, doesn't seem too long at all. For reference, I am about 5'10 (~177 cm) and 150 lbs (68 kg) and prefer skiing the 180 cm. I would imagine the 187 cm would perform similarly for you as the 180 cm does for me.

      Hope that helps,

      SE

  28. Hello,

    Great reviews!

    Was looking for a brief comparison of this ski to the Pinnacle 88? The Pinnacle is super easy to ski, but maybe a touch light. Ski all mountain, but focused on the bumps this year.

    5'-9" 155 lbs

    Apologies if this comment is redundant with another under review.

    1. Hi Brian!

      Overall, they're quite similar. There are some slight differences in feel, however. The Experience 88 Ti holds an edge a little bit better on firm snow and feels a little more stable at speed. The Pinnacle 88 pivots and smears slightly easier, which helps give it a very maneuverable, relatively forgiving feel in bumps. The Experience 88 is fun in moguls too, it just doesn't have quite the pivoting ability as the Pinnacle.

      Hope that helps!

      SE

  29. Hi,

    I'm 55yrs old 6ft and 195 lbs and have been skiing in the Alps for many years so feel i'm advances/expert and Verbier the resort I visit has some long steep un-groomed runs so a lot of big Mogels (never found a ski that works for me) also like to carve pretty fast on the groomers so looking for a ski and was considering the Experience 88's also I have Soul 7's 180 for the deep powder GREAT but when the lower slopes get hard packed and traveling at a little speed the Soul 7's just slide! Also have been considering the Dynastar Legend X88 0r X84's? Wow any help you can provide will be very much appreciated?? Cheers Rich.

    1. Hi Richard!

      The new Experience 88 Ti is awesome! I think you'll love it. The Legends might have too much early taper for what you're looking for. The Experience 88 Ti carves like a dream, but also handles moguls really well. It has a nice mix of powerful performance on firm snow and relatively forgiving feel in un-groomed terrain. I also think it compliments your Soul 7s really nicely. Pretty perfect two-ski-quiver right there! For length, I'd go 180 cm. That should work well for your size, ability, and what you ski.

      SE

  30. Amazing posts! Really torn between the exp 88, navigator 90/85, or waiting for the new navigator 88's. I ski 80% frontside with the remainder on powder. 5'10 and 185lbs with a beginner/intermediate skill level. Any advice would be amazing!
    GT

    1. Hi Grahm!
      I assume you are referring to the 2020 Nordica Enforcer 88? If you are, that ski is awesome! It's a bit more of an expert level ski and I think the Experience 88 would be a better choice for you in that regard. The Navigator skis love carving turns and have a pretty stiff tail, so if you are looking to stay on-piste, those would be a great option. Overall, I recommend the E88 in the 173 for you. Have fun!
      SE

  31. Hey
    I'm massively torn!
    I currently own a pair of Experience 88 HD from 2015. I used to do GS in my younger days and contemplating either Experience 88Ti 2018 or Rossignol Hero Elite with MT or LT.
    I mainly piste ski, fast carving but don't want to be caught out on powder or ungroomed pistes. I would class myself as advanced.
    What's your view on the options above or any other selections? Or any other options. I used to have 3 pairs but can't keep buying so many!
    Help!

    1. Hi Ryan!
      We're a ski shop, so we're not going to talk you out of buying multiple skis! Those two models are vastly different, to be sure. If you get caught in powder on the Hero, you'll sink. Conversely, if you get caught on boilerplate with the E88, you'll be fine, so if you're looking to reduce the amount of skis that you buy, get the 88--that's your all-mountain versatile ski. You could also opt for a narrower all-mountain ski like the Rossignol E84 or the Nordica Navigator 85 which will meet somewhere in the middle of the carve/float spectrum. Hope that helps!
      SE

  32. Hello. I have enjoyed reading your reviews and comments as they seem to contain sound, practical advice. What ski would you recommend for a 70 year male who skis a few times per year mainly on piste but who also enjoys the powder and small bumps to add challenge. IN addition some runs he likes are not groomed every day so the piste is quite mixed. He used to be an intermediate to advanced intermediate skier. About 176 cm tall and 78 kgm in weight. Thanks for the help

  33. I have spent way too much time researching skis and your reviews have been very helpful. I'm 6'4 218lb advanced skier with one bad knee who does not like to work too hard at skiing on the 15 days or so a year that I get out. Mainly groomers or just off the edges/light trees. Lot's of crud in the PNW is also part of the deal. Main group I am considering is Enforcer 93, Rustler 9, Mantra M5 or the Rossignol 88 or 94TI. The 94TI review in 187 seems pretty much on point. I'm a one pair of skis person. Andy advice appreciated and thank you!

    1. Hi Andy!
      For a PNW skier looking for a single pair, at your size/stature, I think the E94 is a great choice. It's a bit more "trail-oriented" than the Enforcer and a bit less versatile than the Rustler 9. The Mantra is the most trail-oriented of your group and I think the 88 is just going to be too narrow. I think you're right on the money with the E94 in the 187. Have fun!
      SE

  34. I'm 6'4," weigh 198lbs., and my age is 73. I ski western groomers (60%), ungroomed trails (30%), and powder (10%). Primarily blues but sometimes blacks also. 15-20 days a year. I'm still athletic and ski aggressively but not super fast. I tend to make short and medium length turns. Been sking on Rossi Sin7s the past two years, but would like to buy a second pair of skis that will be more stable on higher speed groomer runs (the Sin 7s get squirreley at higher speeds while on firm or Icey snow). Am considering Rossi Experience 88Ti , Enforcer 93, and Kore 93s. Read all of your reviews and comments on these models but can't make up my mind. My Sin7s are 187 and feel about right. Can you help me make the right choice? Thanks!

    1. Hi Tony!
      Of those three, the Enforcer 93 will be the most stable at speed thanks to the two sheets of metal. The Experience is second because of its metal layer and its narrower width. The Kore is the most squirrely of the three due to the lack of metal. For a ski to complement your Sin, I'd recommend the Experience. For a ski to replace the Sin, I'd go with the Enforcer. If you're not super-fast, the Experience is a fantastically versatile all-mountain ski that I think you'll love. The Enforcer 93 can be a handful if you're not on it all the time. I'd go with the 187 in the Experience 88 due to your height. Hope that helps!
      SE

      1. SE: Thanks so much for your thoughtful insights and comments. I really appreciate your taking the time to consider my choice for new skis. I was leaning toward the Rossi 88s,
        and your comments have sealed the deal for me. They should be an excellent complement to my Sin7s. Thanks again!

  35. Up until recently, I've been a snowboarder, but now as I'm starting to get older I decided to try out skiing as the snowboarding position was starting to get uncomfortable. I've been using rental skis the past two seasons and think I'm ready to officially make the switch and get my own pair of skis. I'm 5'11" 200 lbs, ski in the NE, and like to stick to mostly blues and blacks with speed but not a lot of bumps or tight stuff. From what I've been reading, I think the 88 TI's will be a good fit for me.

    My question is, should I be looking at a 173 or 180? I would lean towards the 173 just because I am relatively new to skiing and that seems to fit my size, but based on what I've read about the shorter effective length, it sounds as though the 180 might be the better choice. I'm not opposed to getting something that may have a little bit more of a learning curve for me as I want to buy something that will last me a long time and I'll be able to use as my skills advance, not something I will grow out of quickly. Thanks!

  36. Thanks SE! I think I've been renting 160's or so but I will find out when I go there again this weekend. I did want to find out more about the skis I have been renting anyway to get an idea of what they are and what differences there would be with the 88ti. I think you are right on the 173 though... I doubt I will be pushing them so hard that I need the extra 7cm of length to hold the edge, and having a shorter length that's closer to what I have been using is probably more beneficial.

  37. I am looking for an all mountain ski around the 90mm waist with range that will perform well on groomed and ungroomed trails. I have a pair of Solomon Lords that I love, however they are becoming unskiable as I have outgrown them and I am looking to replace them with something similar. I would mainly use the new skis on East Coast powder days, skied-off sloppy conditions, in the trees and bumps, and the occasional trip out west as I also have a pair of Head Supershape i.Rallys that I love. I am 5'10" and 145lbs with a racing background. I am looking at the Rossignol Experience 88 ti's as well as the Head Kore 93's. Do you have any insights as to which ski would be better for me or any other suggestions?

    Thanks for your help!

    1. Hi John!
      Former racers seem to really like skis with metal in them, which the Rossignol does and the Kore does not. I think you'd like the Experience more than the Kore simply because of your racing heritage. If you have the i.Rally, the E88 will be a fantastic supplemental ski. Have you looked at the new K2 Mindbender 90 Ti at all? It's a new ski that I really like, and seems to fit a wide variety of skiers and conditions. Hope that helps!
      SE

    1. Hi Amy!
      The difference between the men's and women's in both the 88 Ti and the 84 Ai are pretty negligible. The core is a bit lighter in the women's version, but other than that they're the same, just different sizing and graphics. Hope that helps!
      SE

  38. Thanks for all the commentary, really helpful! I have narrowed down my selection to either the Experienece 88 Ti or the Enforcer 93 (2019 models). I am 6'4", 185 lbs. I started skiing about 6 years ago when I met my wife and have been making a couple trips out West every year since. I ski single and double blacks, love skiing moguls but my wife keeps us doing some groomers as well. I also love to ski the powder days when the timing works out. I am predominantly on-piste. I rented the experience 84 Ti this past season and thought they were great. I am wondering if the enforcer would be a little more challenging for me now but a good ski to grow into as my skills continue to develop.

    Which would you recommend and what length? Thanks in advance!!

    1. Hi Taylor!
      It sounds like your ready for the upgrade to the 93. If you're out west and skiing all-mountain and all-conditions, that Enforcer 93 is hard to beat. I'd say you're a 185 even though you're quite tall--your weight and experience put you in the 185 in my mind. The Experience 88 is a great ski, and the Enforcer also makes an 88, but as far as an all-around ski for western conditions, that E93 is perfect. Hope that helps!
      SE

        1. Taylor,
          I'd say the Experience 88 is a better mogul ski due to the narrower waist and the softer overall flex, especially in the tips and tails. Hope that helps!
          SE

  39. Great reviews!! I'm looking to upgrade my skis to an all mountain ski. Currently on old school 2012 Atomic smoke 77mm / 164cm .I'm an intermediate skiier (can handle all blues & easy blacks), looking to get better. - 5'9 165lbs. Groomers 65%, Powder/Trees 35%. Which length & width would you recommend?

    Looking at: Rossi 88 TI 2019, Nordica Enofrcer 93, Volkyl M5 Mantra, (basically all your all mountain 2019 skis video 🙂

    1. Hi Ray!
      I think the Rossi is the best choice on your list. I'd stick to the 88-90 based on your ski application. The Enforcer also comes in an 88, so that's another good option, and the Kendo 88 is basically a narrower Mantra, so I'd put that on your list as well. If you were more 50/50, I'd say the mid-90's is the place to be. Probably the low 170's in terms of length for any of those models. Have fun!
      SE

  40. What would you consider like some kind of max skier's weight, or hight, or all together for a given skier skill and skis skill target. Let's say if we have 3 male skiers, all 3 possess intermediate skills skiing blues, and some blacks. The first one has 130lb, the second has 170lb, and the third has 215lb. Because they are intermediate skiers, they target skis that are for intermediate skiers, correct? Who of them, if any of them, should step up and consider skis with entry for advanced-intermediate, advanced, or expert skier? Where would be cut off? How about the female skiers? Thank you!

    1. Hi Floridijan!
      While I wouldn't say there is a strict cut-off in your scenario, I would say that the 215 pound skier should consider a step up in terms of ski level/construction. When a heavier intermediate gets on a ski with no metal, they can feel like they overpower the ski. I wouldn't automatically say that is true for all 215 pound skiers, as personal preference and ski style have a lot to do with it as well, but in general, heavier skiers, regardless of ability, can go up a level in ski model. Same is true for ladies. Have fun!
      SE

      1. SE, thank you for your response. Now I would like to ask you what you would recommend me, I would say, to an intermediate skier, skiing blues and blacks in Breck, Vail, and BC, 52 year old, 215lb, 6’2”? Approximately 15-20 days of skiing in a season (December/January, and March) all within the boundaries above mentioned resorts (groomed, moguls, trees). I can ski aggressively time to time, but it is not my main goal considering my age, my fitness. I am going to put on the list some skis in an alphabetical order that I am considering to buy, but I would like you to put them in an order that you think they would be best for me. Just to help you a little bit, Salomon QST 88 2019, are too much soft for me, don’t hold the edge well and I have feelings I overpower (noodles under me) them on steeper slopes, blues, or blacks. Nordica Enforcer 93, I can ski them, but again it seems like they make me much faster tired while I still want to ski whole days during my vacation. Ok, here is the list: Brahma 88, Bushwacker, Experience 88Ti, Rustler 9, or you can add any other if you think they should take a place. Of course, you may take off the list some of them if you think they are not for me. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *